Welcome to Digital Collections, the online access to the Glennon Archives’ museum, photograph and archives collections.
From its beginning, the library collected and displayed artwork, natural history specimens and historical objects throughout the library and in the historical museum on the top floor. The contents of the Museum Collection reflect the diverse collecting practices of the time. There are paintings acquired by the Library’s founder, Charles B. Winn, war relics brought home by Woburn’s Civil War soldiers, kitchen implements that were part of the library’s Colonial Revival era Colonial Kitchen and many other fascinating objects from Woburn’s past to discover.
Photographic collections showcase the rich history of Woburn from the early days of photography in the 1850’s up through the mid-twentieth century. The collection includes photographs by important Woburn photographers such as Baldwin Coolidge, Howard E. Strout and Charles Taylor that document the historic buildings, sites and people of Woburn.
In the archives are records for the large manuscript holdings of the Glennon Archives. These include fourteen categories of collections as outlined in the Guide to the Collections, from early Woburn town documents to church records, family papers and postcards. Each collection has a description that serves as a gateway to further research into a collection.
There are several search functions such as keyword search, advanced search, search by term or random images that allow you to explore the collections. Records will be added to Digital Collections on an ongoing basis. Please contact us with any questions.
From Roller Polo to Baking Soda to the Percolators to vulcanized rubber Woburn possesses a deep and rich history.